What my research methodology has to tell you

I had seen and read and written the word “methodology” dozens of time before I understood its meaning to the full extent and finally decided which one suits my research. In order to make the right choice I first wanted to know what I want to tell my audience, and then how I want to do it.

The main purpose in my research is to learn where teachers see themselves in the process of inclusive education of orphan students, what challenges they face and what kind of opportunities and maybe benefits they find. There are not many schools in Astana that practice inclusive education, so I have decided to take one in particular that has inclusive education of orphan students for sure. Then, the circle shrunk even more as I needed only teachers that give lessons to the students of my interest. There is a certain number of these teachers. Moreover, some of them might not be willing to participate in the study. So, eventually I will have specific number of teachers that will share their stories about the process. They will tell me as a researcher their opinions and attitudes towards it, and may share some of the aspects that need improvement or have been successful so far. Consequently, my research is undoubtedly qualitative because I don’t need and have no reason to look for generalizations as it is usually done in quantitative method. In addition, I am going to investigate one specific school, which makes it case-study design. All in all, every story is unique, so is the story of the case school I am going to investigate. With the help of right methodology my research will tell the audience what is happening in fact with the IE of orphans in one particular school. Thus, strengths and areas for improvement can be identified. This might further help different stakeholders to take actions accordingly.

5 thoughts on “What my research methodology has to tell you

  1. I believe you chose the topic that is of a great importance. I agree that there are not so many schools in Kazakhstan using the principles of Inclusive education. I am glad that the school you chose fits your interest of research. You clearly explained the choice of research design that you will apply. My research is also a Case Study, since I will explore one school setting. I do believe that your research will help educators and other stakeholders to take necessary actions to improve the educational system, that will then welcome and respect diverse needs of different learners.

    Like

    1. Hope springs eternal. We all wish that our research will change things and improve outcomes. Research shows that research has very little impact on practice. C’est la vie.

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing, Kymbat. I am getting a better understanding of your research topic and the challenges that lie ahead of you. I am confident you will do fine! You writing here starts off very strong, with a personal anecdote that really sets the stage for a discussion to follow. It seems though, that by the end you ran out of energy and cut the post short without maintaining that level of detail and engagement. Your last two lines fall flat, perhaps because they are missing details that would help them really impact the reader. In your future writing, try to end on a strong note!
    4.5/5->late->3.5/5

    Like

  3. Dear Kymbat,
    I remember last year how passionate you were about researching the quality of education to orphans and I was glad that you continue working with this issue. It is definitely a problem in our country concerning the orphans in any region of Kazakhstan. There are many situations where we witness that orphans do not get a qualitative education because of their behavior, conditions and approaches of teachers and schools. Although you face many challenges during your research, I am sure you will achieve your aim and come to some improvements for this issue.
    According to your writing I would emphasize one wordy sentence:
    All in all, every story is unique, so is the story of the case school I am going to investigate (20 words)

    In general, each story is unique as well as the school history I will investigate (15 words)

    Like

  4. Dear Kymbat, thank you for sharing your innermost thoughts. Mostly, you discussed the methodology section which is a crucial part of our thesis. You shared your purposes, questions, and provided justifications for some of your actions. Good luck !

    Like

Leave a comment