Every kid needs a champion (Deconstruction)

As a teacher, I am aware that teaching profession is not the easiest. Although working with children might be delineated as funny and amusing, sometimes it might have its difficulties as well. However, if teacher and student understand each other, the process is likely to be successful. In her TED Talks speech, educator Rita Pierson, who has worked in this field for more than 40 years, raises the issue of the relationship between teachers and students. She uses expressions of famous Americans and shares her personal experience in order to explicate the importance of the relationship to be successful in teaching and learning.

In the beginning, the speaker provides examples from the words of James Comer that states “no significant learning can occur without a significant relationship” and George Washington Carver’s opinion, which is “all learning is an understanding relationship” in order to underpin her claim. Personally, I found these statements pertinent, since they highlight the significance of relationship in a learning process.

What I like the most from her speaking are the words “kids don’t learn from people they don’t like”, which she said to her colleague, who considers she doesn’t have to like children. I think I like it because I have had such situation in my personal experience. As a schoolgirl, I didn’t use to like Physics and didn’t have that passion to study it as had it for the Chemistry. After watching Rita Pierson’s video, I understood that the matter was in my Physics teacher. She was too critical and sometimes rude. On the contrary, the teacher of Chemistry was friendly and tried to build a relationship, which made me be interested in her class. That is why I can state that I completely agree with the speaker that relationship is far more important than it seems. The statement she said to her colleague might seem as an assumption, but not for me, since I have encountered the same situation myself.

Moreover, the speaker espouses the Stephen Covey’s idea, which states that simple things are also important in building a relationship. She doesn’t just emphasize this idea is right, she also practices it in her own experience. It can be seen from the example when she apologized for her wrong teaching to students. As a result, students didn’t judge their teacher, but they just were sympathetic in relation to her. Here we can see that simple thing like apologizing plays a significant role in creating the relationship between students and their teacher.

Building a relationship is also beneficial in teaching students who are academically deficient. Teachers can motivate their students to study not by telling them off for their bad results or marks, but by encouraging them for their minute success. It is also one of the situations that Rita Pierson has had in her experience and considers to be advantageous. I agree with the speaker that it isn’t possible to like all your students, but teachers are just actors and actresses and they establish a relationship in order to direct them to the right way. So, they become a champion to their students, who will always support them.

Image result for every kid needs a champion

Photo credits to: Every-child-deserves-a-champion-.jpg

I was impressed by the speech of Rita, since it was compelling. I consider it is because almost all examples are from her personal experience. I highly appreciate her passion for what she is doing. It is not just teaching, it is also having a valuable human connection, which is the relationship.

3 thoughts on “Every kid needs a champion (Deconstruction)

  1. I remember being so excited and nervous when I started teaching at school. I wanted to become a teacher who would be supportive, caring, sincere and inspiring for her students. That was the image of an ideal teacher that I created in my mind being a schoolgirl. Then, I didn’t understand why my teachers weren’t like those ones from my dreams. But after several months of teaching, I noticed that there were times when I would fake a smile or be tired of always trying to be understanding and forgiving. At that moment, I understood why my teachers didn’t even try to be nice. I guess they just lost their spark because of everyday routine. I think it is not only about the teachers and students’ attitudes. A lot of other “external” factors seem to influence the atmosphere in the classroom. That is why I admire teachers who manage to stay true to themselves and don’t change no matter what.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You do a nice job in this deconstruction to both summarize and analyze the talk. While you recognize that her claims are impossible to generalize (“The statement she said to her colleague might seem as an assumption,”) you acknowledge that your own shared experience supports her ideas (“but not for me, since I have encountered the same situation myself.”). Nice work!

    A few minor things to fix:
    I am aware that __ teaching profession is not the easiest. (article)
    delineate (describe or portray (something) precisely or in exact terms; it isn’t simply a synonym for “describe”)

    5/5

    Like

  3. Good talk you have chosen. However, although she explicates very well and proves that building relationship with students is vitally important, she fails to explicate why kids deserves a champion. In short, I do not see clear connection between the talk topic and her claim.

    Like

Leave a comment