A piece of music a day makes you better anyway

image-26-01-16-08-28

The late 1990s. At the age of 6 I went to a pre-school. The same year I started to attend music school in Kostanay. That time I had various music subjects including the class of piano. The year was сrucial in my life since I should pass the final exams to be the 1st grader in a music school and to become a student of a primary school. Fortunately, I succeeded in killing two birds with one stone and was offered to study at the only school with music focus in the city where there was one class of beginning musicians. What could be better than that? – Nothing, and I will tell you why.

To begin with, I think that music is closely related to discipline. That time I did not even know the term “time-management” but was successful in following its rules as it happened. My whole day was full of activities and duties. In the morning I had to attend two to three music classes such as music literature, solfeggio, choir, etc. Then, in the afternoon, as a whole class we attended our compulsory subjects such as mathematics, languages, literature and so forth. Thus, a child who devotes his/her time, except the school subjects, to music, is able to plan a day, as a rule.

Second, when my parents decided to bind my childhood with music they made me a favor. If a child plays various music compositions he tries to reflect and repeat all the emotions passed by the author. As a consequence, children became attentive and respectful towards human feelings. Moreover, children learn how to be patient and hard-working. The reason is it is not nearly easy to memorize all the music notes in a moment and play a composition by heart.

Third, I will agree with those who say that music in education is not necessarily needed. But, I will add that the knowledge of music masterpieces, the ability to recognize them and value develop a person’s inner world as reading of classic literature does. In my opinion, if a person believes himself/herself to be a man of culture, he or she is ought to be aware of the world of music.

To conclude, the world does not rest on its laurels; human beliefs and values change. But still, I hope music will stay with us forever, making us to create, broadening our horizons. So, what could be better than that?

3 thoughts on “A piece of music a day makes you better anyway

  1. What a great post and what a magnificent topic to write about!
    I am totally agree with all your points about music. Music is not only a hobby, but it is our life and something what gives us motivation and inspiration even if we talk about studying. Or it is only me who needs to spend some hours before I begin to learn something? 🙂
    My mother is a teacher of music and I still remember how I came to the Department of Musical Education of Kostanay State University, where she worked. I still remember some melodies from my memories but, unfortunately, notwithstanding the fact that my mother is a musician, I haven’t learnt how to play piano or other musical insturments. But the passion towards music complitely imbued my life and hauted me from the very childhood.
    It is not possible to express how important is the music for me or to count how much times in my life music inspired me to learn, to move, and not to give up.
    So, that is why your post touched me so deeply and inspired me to write the comment.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Your life story reminded me about my childhood in my hometown Ekibastuz. My week was full of extracurricular classes – English, dombyra playing, and traditional dances, which taught me to be a dedicated and open-minded person. Altough I witnessed and remain seeing fruitful results of my mom’s intention to help me develop various skills, I am puzzled about possibilities to determine to what extent a child can or should be overoccupied with many out of classroom activities. Does it really bring a joy in addition to education and also stress?
    Back to music, your idea on adding some classical music history to a curriculum is excellent; it could be integrated into other subjects like literature, history, and even math.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear @sholpanospanova!

    Thank you for sharing your personal experience with us, and I absolutely agree with you: Music must go on! And I also want to share a little bit of my love to music, even if I did not become one. Since my childhood, I was surrounded with talented people who devoted their lives to art. My father is a singer and my sister is a Kobyz-player (note: Kazakh national musical instrument), younger nieces are artists, that is why my family and I were brought up in the atmosphere of music and art. I also attended different dombra, piano and mandola classes, and still know some masterpieces of the greatest musicians. We all went: my older sisters and brothers. That was my parents` wish. But getting older, all of us (except my sister – Zhuldyz) have chosen different ways to conquer other peaks of life. Thanks to my parents; they did not stipulate us much on it.
    I have to agree with your point that having music classes and attending various extra-curricular activities bring up a person with high intelligence, to be responsible, and disciplined; moreover, he is the best at planning his day effectively; pinpoints his priorities, etc. You note that you agree with those who say music is not needed, I would not say so, but I agree with you on your next idea where you say that being aware of music and knowing compositions of musicians will help people to be broad-minded and understand music. There is no need to be an expert; just show them your respect and love. Musicians do not demand much. They love music. They share their love with people.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

