How to cope with deadlines when you should focus on your thesis?

images

Photo credit: http://www.quickmeme.com/meme/3rxmp2

The major deadlines for the thesis are coming and most of us are challenging to accomplish multiple tasks at the same time. Personally, I also have some issues since I have children and can not run away from my responsibilities. I have noticed that my groupmates are tired, some of them have the problems with procrastination, some are nervous and all of us are waiting for the Viva Voce and the thesis submission. However,  even though it is a very busy time we should be “kind to our mind” (as written in the Sky Walk)  and have a good rest, go out and walk, do sport, speak with friends and family but keep focused. It is realistic if you have a clear plan and to do list. Frankly saying, sometimes I can not follow my plan but it is not the reason to blame myself. I make adjustments and if I am incapable to accomplish the task in time I ask the course instructor or the supervisor to extend the deadline. Fortunately, our Professors are very kind and student-centered, they always support us. Speaking of the courses and thesis,  I would like to share my overall reflection about the education in Master program at GSE.

In the second year of the Master program, we had two intensive sessions and seven compulsory courses. I started to nervous when I realized that I have less time for the independent work with a thesis. Currently, I came to the decision that every assignment and new knowledge gained is connected to thesis and today I can use the excerpts of writing assignments, major implications and broad outlook in my thesis (keep in mind the APA while doing so). For instance, I am planning to use the personal conceptual framework about the connection between the globalization and language which was the assignment for the course. Also, several courses discussed the individual approach, differentiation, and equity of learners in multilingual classrooms which is also necessary to state while discussing the problem statement of the thesis. Moreover, now while writing the reflection I am doing the step back and thinking about further directions and limitations of my study because it is also the process of analysis considering the contribution of courses and new insights they provide. The course English for the Thesis writing itself is planned to help students with concerns, challenges, and misconceptions since every two weeks we do self-revision, peer revision and reflect on our progress of writing a thesis. So the main idea of my blog is to say that when you do assignments for courses relate them to your study, keep your thesis in mind and vice versa keep new insights from the courses in mind while thesis writing, this is an interconnected process.  Then you will not nervous about the deadlines because you won’t forget your thesis it progresses with you.

Overall, the learning experience at NUGSE is always insightful, engaging, sometimes challenging and the process which changes your mind. I would like to thank all professors, course instructors, TAs, my groupmates for their contribution to new me. I never had so many influential people in my life. I hope to reflect the baggage of knowledge which I gained in my future directions and realize my dreams with the intellectual empowerment obtained at NUGSE.

1 thought on “How to cope with deadlines when you should focus on your thesis?

  1. time is important and during all research make sure that you manage time in order to be successful and to complete the task in time

    Like

Leave a comment