Guess who’s back???

Now this looks like a job for me,

So everybody, just follow me

Cause we need a little, controversy

Cause it feels so empty, wihout me

artworks-000039136676-cmxby2-crop

Almost five months have passed since my last masterpiece was born. And I tried to delay the appearance of next as much as I could, in particular, by not having completed the pre-course task yet, but Mr Montgomery messed up all my cards and here I am, writing again.

     I would like to thank God, thank my family, thank my friends and thank everyone who supported me throughout my whole work – it is what I feel like after finishing another piece of writing at NUGSE, which in turn is the only place where I write. I really hope that after graduating and getting my MA degree from NUGSE, I would never have to write again. In some cases, I just express horror when I realize that “more writing” is waiting for me ahead at the prospect of thesis writing. And I just wander in my mind and wonder is research all about writing??? Is there any possibility to do a research and do not write? These are the main questions I would love to get answers for. Voice your opinion, you are all welcome, guys!

As the research is about reaching the new conclusions, the life itself seems to be a bunch of research. So any human being can benefit from another way of thinking about research. Obviously, you cannot do an appropriate academic research without research skills that you have to obtain, learn, acquire whatsoever… Just to breathe and be in right mind is all you need to do any research regarding your life. If life is all about black and white, by questioning everything, you are trying to prove lies and support truths, so you are standing in the path of understanding different issues from various perspectives. Research in terms of searching for discovering your calling is to become prepared to react to challenges of the changing world. The questions like who are we? where are we from? and where are we going? are the ones which demand from person higher-order thinking even to ponder about and of course evidence-based arguments to be convinced to. As Eminem states in his song “but no matter how many fish in the sea, it’ll be so empty without me” (2002), everybody in this life searching for something, so everyone carrying out his own research…What is your research?

References:

Bass, J., Bell, K., McLaren, M. & Horn, T. (2002). Without Me [Recorded by Eminem]. On The Eminem Show.

photo credits to http://shadyrecords.com/2013/03/21/despicable-me-2-trailer-featuring-without-me/

4 thoughts on “Guess who’s back???

  1. Welcome back, Uaxi.

    You post provokes some interesting thoughts, especially for me, as the one assigning all this writing. I completely agree with author William Zinsser who said “writing and learning and thinking are the same process.” (more here: http://www.openculture.com/2015/05/10-writing-tips-from-legendary-writing-teacher-william-zinsser.html) So if research is a thinking and learning process, I see no way to disentangle them. I would be open to hear a counterargument, but I don’t see a way you could be a successful professional in most fields today without writing. Can you elaborate on why writing is such a burden that you would wish to never have to do it again?

    Now let’s tackle your writing itself:
    A few issues with articles:
    As (the) research is about reaching (the) new conclusions, (the) life itself seems to be a bunch of research.
    Word choice:
    …trying to prove lies (disprove?)
    Unclear sentence structure:
    …demand from person higher-order thinking even to ponder about and of course evidence-based arguments to be convinced to.

    4.5/5

    Like

  2. I have recently stumbled upon an interesting piece of popular culture, which often cites writing as one of the strengths of character. I am talking about the broadway show by Lin-Manuel Miranda “Hamilton”, which tells the life story of one of the founding fathers of American nation. As Lin puts it: “Someone who embodies hip-hop, Treasury Secretary Alexander Hamilton”. This man wrote his way into success, power and history books.
    Why am I writing this? I think that this idea, of achieving your goals via the power of your words is something that might inspire you and cause you to reconsider your stance on writing.
    Below is a 5 minute clip I want to quote: “He was born a penniles orphan in Saint Croix, an illegitimate birth, became George Washingtons right hand man,became Treasury Secretary, caught beef with every other founding father AND ALL IN THE STRENGTH OF HIS WRITING, I think he embodies the word’s ability to make a difference”.

    Like

  3. Dearest @davidphilip and @Soothsayer
    thank you for your response and trying to convince me in saying that writing is an important skill. I do believe that writing was and still is a critical skill for any communicator. In my opinion it just does not go for everyone and that is my concern. Knowing that it is even a demand to have a good writing skills in the XXI century, I still don’t like it and try to avoid it. I think it is all because of time it requires, however sometimes if you have an inspiration it takes so little time to give another piece of good writing. All in all, I acknowledge all the importance of writing and will try to do my best in my writing assignments. By the way what do you think is it possible to be a good public speaker without good writing skills?

    Like

    1. Good question. I have read a bit on the inter-relation between oral and written proficiency. I think it may be possible, but unlikely, to be highly skilled in one and not the other, especially in formal, professional or academic settings.

      Like

Leave a comment