Do you enjoy teaching? Yes, but…

 

September 1st, 2014. I remember entering the school with a lot of doubts in my mind. It was the first day of my working experience as a teacher of the English language. The feelings of anxiety prevented me from enjoying this memorable day. While being a pre-service teacher, I could not even imagine that I knew only a HALF of the whole picture. Teaching experience is as enjoyable as drinking water after fitness; at the same time, it is as difficult as learning to drive a car and having poor eyesight. What does bother a first-year teacher? This blog post is not about some pieces of advice but the voice from the teacher who went through it.

A teacher of the English language – sounds great! “When pre-service teachers choose to become teachers to receive external praise, external rewards or because it was prescribed by others, they are acting on extrinsic motives” (Bruinsma & Jansen, p. 186). In my case, it was much of an intrinsic motive. I was willing to become a perfect teacher by giving my students the best of my knowledge and learn from them. I did have this pleasure of becoming a solid whole with my students. I found some hints not to make a pressure on them, but to have a better conversation with my students. A wonderful atmosphere filled all the lessons of English. I was so happy to be a teacher because of it. However, another side added a bit negative part to this story.

What was mentioned before is how the majority of people imagine the teacher profession. I am so lucky that I truly experienced it. Nevertheless, I would not stop here. Plenty of duties goes hand in hand with teaching. Filling pile of documents (paper-based and e-versions), being a curator, communicating with parents, creating concerts, trying host’s outlook, leading students’ research papers – “why not?”. The most significant about this situation is that every teacher faces with it. However, first-year teachers have a more difficult teaching life. Why? Based on my experience, that is because there is no a well-worked mentoring system. If an experienced teacher supported the above mentioned one, a “critical teaching” period would not be so difficult to fight with.  The second reason is a lack of proper duties distribution. Teachers are not robots to cover all the deals perfectly at a time. In this sense, I support Nazarbayev Intellectual Schools’ (NIS) system. They have a mentoring system, which is created for a year period; the roles of teachers and curators are faithfully divided. These two great points could change the situation of overloaded teachers’ minds.

January 28th, 2017. I have two years of teaching experience, and now I am getting my Master’s degree in the sphere of Multilingual Education. I am on the way to know the WHOLE picture of Kazakhstani education system. It is my voice about teaching experience which could be compared to a grain of sand in a desert. Would you add anything to this?

References

Bruinsma, M., & Jansen, E. P. W. A. (2010). Is the motivation to become a teacher related to pre-service teachers’ intentions to remain in the profession? European Journal of Teacher Education, 33(2), 185-200. DOI: 10.1080/02619760903512927

Photo credit to Ayana Mukuzhanova.

4 thoughts on “Do you enjoy teaching? Yes, but…

  1. Dear ayanairis, your blog covers some very memorable moments from your teaching experience. Besides thanking for sharing these moments for the readers, as a graduate of a pedagogic Institute with no experience in real life teaching I would like to ask some questions from the experienced teacher! First, Do you think that financing will allow all schools to have the same system as of NIS’? Second, in the moments when you felt like you wanted to give up the teaching profession what helped you to cope with that feeling?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Yasawi859,

      Thank you for your comment and deep questions concerning this topic. The financing in Kazakhstan does not allow to implement NIS system in all Kazakhstani educational institutions. As you remember from the course on Educational context and reforms in Kazakhstan, we got to know that financing side of education is lacking at all the levels of education. However, the educational system, step by step, changes, and as a suggestion, other schools could take some elements from NIS’s system. For instance, the mentoring system which was mentioned in the blog post. Also, I would like to answer the second question. Love to teaching and my students, the knowledge that I get from them, the inspiration are the points which made me fight with all difficulties in teaching. The more I go, the less I want to give up.

      Like

  2. Dear Ayanairis,

    I would like to support your view of helping pre-service teachers during their first year of teaching. Personally, I can surely say that mentoring system at NIS helped a lot. As a pre-service teacher, I didn’t know most things. Those teachers who are experienced guided us and gave us their support. Also, the school administration usually initiated on various seminars and training sending us to Astana. However, the thing that I did not like was the busy schedule of each teacher. Sometimes we didn’t even have time to get together and discuss some things. The problem here might be the matter of teacher schedule. But overall mentoring should be included in every pre-service teachers’ career.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

