Have you ever faced with a quarter-life crisis?

I was often thinking about the uncertainty of the people after the university graduation. What to do after the graduation? To work? But where? To study? For what purpose? To spend two or more years for studying  again? This uncertainty happens after the school graduation too. However, school leavers are too young, and being afraid of new adult life is understandable. But what about students who are leaving university? They are so called adult people who are already about 20-25 years old. What happens with them after the graduation? The period of uncertainty in the modern life is named as a quarter-life crisis.

We often hear about middle age crisis or awkward age. But what a quarter-life crisis is?

In fact, quarter-life crisis is a modern life notion that happens with people aged from 20 to 30 years old. This crisis occurs after the graduation of the university (immediately or after some moment) when people have to face the real adult life. In this period of life they feel themselves lost and they are on the way of seeking the answer to the question “Who I want to be?” or “What is my next destination?” with a help of all skills acquired at home, at school and in the university.

%d0%b1%d0%b5%d0%b7-%d0%bd%d0%b0%d0%b7%d0%b2%d0%b0%d0%bd%d0%b8%d1%8f-1

I deem everyone faced this crisis, maybe it was even unconsciously. Before encountering this notion, I did not imagine that I had the period of life which called as “crisis”. Actually, after graduation the university with honors, the only question that I had in my mind was “What’s next?” I began to rethink my life. The thought as four years of studying was meaningless flashed  a lot across my mind. I felt myself not ready to the adult life. It seemed I did not have enough skills and knowledge to work in worthwhile places. In that moment, I haven’t received the acceptance letter from Nazarbayev University. My future education was in doubt too. Thus, I was lost regarding my future life by feeling fear of not finding right way.

aaeaaqaaaaaaaas6aaaajgzhnzeyzta4lwfimmutndy3ms05ztg5ltjjntexnwrlmmfloa

Hopefully, this period lasts only 1month and it was not the period when I had depression all day and all night. Just I had some troubles within myself.  So, in the July I had a happy ticket to the new life called “MA student of NUGSE”.

All in all, as Shakespeare said “All’s Well That Ends Well”. I believe that everyone once had this quarter-life crisis. Am I right or no? Please, feel free to share your thoughts about this period of life.

10 thoughts on “Have you ever faced with a quarter-life crisis?

  1. I can totally relate to your blog! First of all, I am from that category of people who has never heard of the quarter life crisis. The only one I could recall was the middle age crisis and I was so happy to think that it is quite far from me! But now I realize that I know much more about crises and actually have already had them! It’s a surprising thought. Anyway, I know all this frustration, fear and uncertainty about future that you have described. As an educational professional, what do you think we can do to help students to cope with such crises? Should we make more emphasis on the idea that it is natural to feel uncertain about future? Or is our task to help them to learn themselves better?

    P.S. What do you think about your life know? Or, I would better ask you May 2018.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Mariya. I’m happy that you found my blog topic informative for you. About the help to students… I deem that it depends on the person. Sometimes you see that smn is very enthusiastic about smth ( I don’t know, to be a teacher), but just afraid of beginning steps toward his/her dream. In such case, we should just support the idea and give the direction. However, there can be cases when person doesn’t see his future at all, in that case my advice just try everything, everything come with trial and errors.

      Like

  2. Dear Arai4ona,
    Thank you for sharing new information and experience, it added to my knowledge box. Concerning the quarter-life crisis that a person might have after graduation, to tell the truth, I didn’t experience such a feeling when I closed the university door. There might be some reasons for that. First of all, at the university, during my holidays I worked in the student organizations as “Zhassyl yel” and “Stroitelnyi otryad” where I earned not only money, but also experience working with people. I did not want to spend my holidays useless, I had fun working with other students accordingly. I believe that experience enabled me to withstand the crisis.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Arai,

    Your post encourages readers to think about the career choice they had made in their mid-twenties. In fact, I consider it to be the choice which they have agreed with much more earlier, before finishing a secondary school. Parents try to help their children to choose the profession they consider to be a well-paid, prestigious and perspective job in the future. For instance, my parents directed me to learn languages and study maths hard since the time these subjects started to be taught at school (because I was good at them). They explained me how important it was to finish the school successfully and choose the ‘right’ profession which would help me to realize my goals in the future. When I finished the school I had to prioritize either learning languages further or study finance at the university. I chose languages and I never regreted about my choice done in my seventeen. I find it to be conscious and well-prepared choice which was made owing to my parents’ brilliant instructions and upbringing at necessary time.

    However, not every child agrees with his/her parents in this respect. Young people have their own views and plans for the future. It is important to listen to child’s preferences and wishes. Sometimes parents either demand more than their child is able to do, or insist on agreement with the elder generation. There are vivid examples from my work experience at the university. It is not a secret that students with such position do not graduate well from the university because they lack satisfaction from what they have been studying several years. Some of them leave the university in a few month after the enrolling. We may guess that finally such children take a stance on their own choice and overpersuade their parents. Luckily, they study what they want and work in the place they like.

    So to say, it is very important for parents and young people to understand that the choice should be done mainly in close cooperation and agreement in the family. I think that any kind of pressure in this issue can ruin child’s individualism and self-confidence. Only encouragement and meticulous support in choosing a profession can be helpful to avoid crisis in mid-twenties.

    Thank you for sharing thought-provoking post. Hope you will enjoy my points embued with the memories of my school, university and work experience.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very interesting post, Arai. (4.5/5) Your topic is quite relevant for students and young professionals alike, and your addition of images makes the post lively and attractive. A couple points could make this post even more effective: 1) source information for your images. Like citing ideas and words of the authors we read, we should be careful to give credit to those sources who created the images we are now using without their permission. 2) Several grammatical mistakes and stylistic missteps can be corrected:
    I deem everyone faced this crisis, ____________ unconsciously. (Your version created a comma splice by reintroducing an unnecessary verb and subject. Try “even if” to condense and strengthen the clarity of this point.)
    But what a quarter-life crisis is? (Word order!)

    Like

  5. Dear, Arai!
    Thanks for the interesting information you shared with us. I had one question concerning this blog: Is there any relation of this quarter-life crisis with a culture. If so how, for instance, Kazakh culture deals with the quarter life crisis? As both mariaminu and you, I have never heard of quarter-life crisis, too. Because of that I am really curious about what would be your response))

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear Aray, thank you for sharing the information with us! I really liked it since everything you described in the blog almost 100% coincides with my own experience. I was also so called “very lost”. I just did not have any “to the point” answer to the question: “what should I do now?!” after my graduation from university. Moreover, the thing I would like to add even now I am not sure of the next step after getting my master degree as well. So, what should I call it? I panically guess re-quarter-of-life-crisis. I just want to know if this thing is taking place only in my life, or is it normal phenomenon?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gulnara, I know that you are not only one, who doesn’t know what to do after graduation. Just take it easy. Enjoy your NU life. I believe that the bright future is waiting for us, definitely.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

