Coexistence of reading and writing

Reading and writing are intertwined important processes. For purposive writing researchers need purposive reading strategy.  I t is very important to follow some reading strategies to gain main ideas for further writings.  For example there are three slightly different open reading types which will be explained more meticulously in the following paragraphs ( Dollahite & Haun, 2006). The most general approach at the opening reading stage is that a reader is recommended to look at a title of a scholarly paper or a book to catch a main idea.  I describe one of the purposeful reading strategies which can be useful for writing process.

In reality I began to understand reading technique when I began to write responding to writings from two classes. I have started to read more purposefully papers without intervention from that time. Without intervention in this context  means that I stopped rereading some passages in the first reading stage as I did at the beginning of the course.  I started intervention or readings with stops at the second stage when I reread again returning back to those interesting or vague points. According to Dollahite and Haun,(2006) there are three characteristics of writing  responses: personal experience approach, application approach and agree/ disagree approach.

I assume, responding to writings has many benefits; a reader will infer the meaning from the text to apply or to explain  personal experiences on the basis of the given article to his own context and at this moment a ready unconsciously understand the main idea of a given text.  I used second approach when I applied language ideology theory into Kazakhstani content supporting it examples from media. Application response helps a reader deeper investigate his living environment in order to find an application example for a written theory. The third type of agree/ disagree approach will enhance critical thinking skills because a reader should infer referring to past research or past experiences. Overall, reading and writing are  overlapping procedure which lead to  understand the main idea of a text assisting writing significantly for a junior researcher.

 

Reference:

Dollahite N.E. & Haun, J. (2006).  Sourcework: Academic Writing From Sources.  US: Heinle, Cengage Learning.

 

 

One thought on “Coexistence of reading and writing

  1. I agree with your point that our writing helps us to understand our readings. I have also similar experience with you. I started understanding readings when I wrote my ideas to the paper. I generated my ideas, lited them and revised some weak points. Pen and paper are important tools for me to think , understand and write.

    Like

Leave a Reply

