A graduate degree and three children; it is possible

BLOG 2The spring semester has just started. Looking back, I realize how much efforts have been done to pass in all subjects with good grades. To be honest,  I was not sure that it is possible to be a mother in academia. Yes, I am a graduate mother student of three wonderful kids, and I am excited over the upcoming birth of my fourth one. It is natural to ask, what is the reason of my pursuing the master’s degree, when I have to be fully  involved in raising a family. The answer is, it is never too late to learn. I had been an at home-mother for eight years, by that time I held already master’s degree in humanities. But it is not about degree, it is more about finding my true vocation. Here at NUGSE  I am studying Inclusive Education. That’s what I am mostly interested in – that’s my cup of tea.

Before applying to Nazarbayev University I had not figured out how I would maintain being both a mother and a student. I was worried I could not be as smart as other graduates, I doubted to be able to write a good research paper, as it seemed to me impossible to fully devote yourself to study. On the other hand, I was nervous about my family, the thought that the kids would suffer from lack of my care and attention did not leave me. However, I am lucky to have a supportive husband and parents, they are always ready to help and even took household chores from my shoulders. To tell the truth, it is not easy to be a grad mom, it requires a strong organization and flexibility. I feel like I have to be an extremely productive to survive finals. I always have a plan, and I have overcome procrastination which helps tremendiously. Usually, I  start working on assignments only when kids are in bed, in general, I was morally ready to have sleepless nights and set strategies to meet deadlines. Now, I am proud of myself as I am not a housewife anymore, yes,  I am struggling to balance parenthood and school, but, my children are my life’s precious gifts, and they inspire me to go forward and make investment in my future career. People keep asking me how it feels to be an academic mother, based on my experience, I can say it is possible to be a master student whilst being a mom.

One thought on “A graduate degree and three children; it is possible

  1. Dear author,
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about managing and balancing your family time with the studies. Being a mother of two lovely kids, I do understand your concerns regarding your children of having less ‘care and attention’ at this period of time. I agree that time management is a key for success in this context. Only now I began to value every hour I spend with family and study. I always remind myself that I am stuyding for self development and my kids.They will surely benefit from an educated mother of whom they can be proud. I
    I wish you the best of luck in your endeavors.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

