The first experience of the survey

The theme of my thesis is “The relationship between academic honesty awareness and plagiarism”. I can see a clear relationship between my thesis topic and online learning process. But while defining the relationship between plagiarism and online learning I got further and decided to explore the given topic in light of teachers’ perspectives. In our school we have many teachers doing their professional development courses online. As this is an additional course, the teachers usually have to fulfill the tasks in the evenings right after the school. This is twice harder as the teachers are often tired and have no motivation for creative and critical thinking. I even witnessed the cases when teachers copied the works as did not want to spend their time on that. But does this also mean that the teachers are not aware of the fact that everything is checked and they can be penalised?

So I have decided to find out the relationship between academic honesty awareness and plagiarism in online courses. This is a quantitaive study. In order to explore the topic, I have created the survey comprising three sectors with Yes\No questions and asked teachers of different subjects to fill in them.

Everything went quite well. By the end of the day I had almosrt thirty different answers from teachers. I almost did not have any challenges related to either mistrust or the fear from the teachers’ side. I assume that this happend because I am on an administrator’s position and people tend to believe me, although it may also cause some unexpected results that  could be done as an anticipation to my personality.

To conclude, I was happy to get a positive feedback on my first data collection experience and I do hope that the amount of collected data could allow me to complete the thesis on the issue of plagiarism in an online learning community.

2 thoughts on “The first experience of the survey

  1. Dear Laura,
    I think that your study can be beneficial as you are focusing on the main issue for the majority of teachers and students in Kazakhstan. You mentioned that you are going to conduct quantitative study and that you did not have problems with participants mistrust. However, in your opinion would participants trust you less if the study was qualitative and you conducted face-to-face interviews with them?

    Like

  2. Laura, I’m glad to hear you found the survey model successful, and that you got so many participants. You open the idea of subjective influence that you might have on the participants’ answers when you mention your role as an administrator. Did you consider that you might get false answers because you are in an administrative position? Couldn’t they feel uncomfortable telling their administration about their experiences cheating? If you thought about that and found a way to ensure anonymity, that is something you’ll certainly want to explain in your methodology section.

    Your writing is well organized and direct. I do notice some misspelled words (almosrt, quantitaive), so be careful to proofread all your writing. Also, I would recommend connecting your ideas a bit more closely from sentence to sentence. Check out this example:

    “This is a quantitaive study. In order to explore the topic, I have created the survey comprising three sectors with Yes\No questions and asked teachers of different subjects to fill in them.” The first and second topic feel choppy and separated, and could easily be linked into one sentence:

    “In order to explore the topic, I have created a quantitative study in which I gave a survey comprising three sectors with Yes\No questions to teachers of different subjects.” This example has the added benefit of using fewer words and being a bit more direct.

    4.5/5

    Like

Leave a Reply

