How to “flip” your classroom?

I was inspired by this video 4 years ago. The ideas that he introduced made me think about the teaching practice differently. It was the time, when I realized that a contemporary teacher is not a source of knowledge, but a facilitator. After watching that video, I created my own blog, and started to produce my own video lessons. The person, who inspired me, is Salman Khan, a founder of Khan Academy, which is very popular worldwide. In 2010, his videos were watched 100 000 times a day (TED, 2011)

.

In his TED video, Salman Khan talks about innovative approach in teaching. He suggests using video lessons in order to introduce a material and spend the classroom time for practicing skills (Khan, 2011). As a teacher of math, I know that teachers spend most of the classroom time for explaining a topic. Little time is allocated for practicing solving skills. Khan proposes to “flip” the classroom with the help of video lessons that students can watch at home at their own pace. When they come to class, teacher can help students solve the problems in groups. In that way, all the students will have understood the topic and practiced skills at their level.

I loved that idea; however, I encountered a number of obstacles in implementing such innovative idea into my classroom. The first problem was that my students had too many lessons to study, and it was almost impossible for them to watch a video at home when they are tired. The other challenge was that not all students had access to the internet, however the situation these days probably have improved. The third obstacle to effective use of  that idea was lack of personal time for creating such video lessons. In my opinion, the effective use can be achieved, if high quality video lessons that are already published, translated into local languages. Also the number of lessons that students have must be decreased, so as students have more free time to have rest, and watch video lessons afterwards.

References

Khan, S. (2011). Let`s use video to reinvent the education [TED video]. https://www.ted.com/talks/salman_khan_let_s_use_video_to_reinvent_education

TED. (n.d.). Salman Khan: Let`s use video to reinvent the education. Retrieved October 6, 2015 from https://www.ted.com/talks/salman_khan_let_s_use_video_to_reinvent_education

 

6 thoughts on “How to “flip” your classroom?

  1. Dear Talgat, I would like to share my experience of visiting Khan Academy in USA. That was absolutely fabulous place. that was the story, behind which they built the philosophy and business model, whuch are very sustainable. They also hire very passionate people who care of outcome.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Dear Talgat,

    Thank you for sharing such a great post and video. That is real inspired me to think about my own teaching experience. I would like to say that after watching this video I had also shared with my colleagues and they were really fascinating. I think that is big challenge for all teachers all over the world to change their personal way of teaching and learning.
    I believe that it could bring something extraordinary ideas and approaches in education.

    Like

  3. I highly appreciate your effort to make a contribution to the teaching practice in the way as You have started.
    It is evident for all that the majority of young students prefer using digital devices for different purposes at current time. I think the amount of time they spend with gadgets impact greatly on developing their visual memorizing skills. In this case I believe the idea of presenting new materials through video will be beneficial for students and teachers as well.
    Moreover, I think, it might become a good topic for young researchers to investigate.
    Good luck.

    Like

  4. Dear Talgat, I highly appreciate your selectivity and taste! In the stream of thousands of video on You tube channel you have chosen one of the most attractive, breathtaking and helpful videos. Thank you.

    To my misfortune, I have never watched the inspiring videos of Salman Khan, but I heard a lot about using videos in the lesson practice as a mean of maintaining flipped- classroom. However, the teacher should not forget about limitations that may take place. Some the obstacles were listed by you and I want to add more. For students to be successful on their own, videos used in the flipped-classroom model must include a variety of approaches in the same way a face-to-face lesson would, and they must also have good sound and image quality so that students can follow along easily. These videos must also match the curriculum, standards and the labs or activities the students will complete in class.

    Like

  5. Talgat,

    Thank you very much for sharing the idea of creating video lessons. I absolutely agree with the potential obstacles you ‘ve listed and guess that the video production process may be quite time-consuming. Nevertheless, it would be great for a teacher to try making educational videos at least once in a rare while in order to bring variation to one’s classroom practicies and engage students into the process of learning. Besides, if taking the English language teaching, there are tons of video lessons in youtube, and you even don’t need to put efforts into creating your own ones. It is not that easy with science subjects though…

    Like

  6. This is a very good and informative post. I am a fan of Salman Khan too. It’s too bad you had obstacles in trying out the flipping technique.

    I see good paragraph organization and transition words and expressions to link ideas.

    A punctuation issue:

    You used the semicolon correctly here to SEPARATE two independent clauses:
    “I loved that idea; however, I encountered a number of obstacles in implementing such innovative idea into my classroom.”

    But, the semicolon is not used correctly here:
    ” The other challenge was that not all students had access to the internet, however the situation these days probably have improved.”
    It should be: …..the internet; however, the situation…..

    Good job!

    5/5

    Ann

    Like

Leave a Reply

