There is always something you can improve and update! This is literature review.

The first time I heard about a research was at the Inquiry methods session. After primary skimming and further scanning of Creswell I came to conclusion that a research process cycle consists of six main steps (Creswell, 2012). Personally, I was expecting that the part of collecting data with its following analysis and interpretation would be the hardest and most challenging element of my research on the impact of using mother tongue in EFL classes. Now I believe that it is going to be the most exciting and captivating piece of my study.

Whereas, the most boring and time-consuming part I have faced is the part of reviewing the literature which I first thought was the easiest and minor component in my study. ‘This is no big deal’, I was thinking and I was wrong. Why? Because instead of reading two or three articles related to my topic I had to read about twenty and I still need to keep on working on it; and instead of grasping information from different or secondary sources I had to focus on primary ones and look for scholarly literature vs. non-scholarly literature as well. Also, at the time I was not even aware of Google Scholar or any other useful academic library databases but I mistakenly assumed that Google.com was the only tool for searching any literature I wanted. The only thing I managed to do write was identifying proper key words for my research. I chose the most important words in the title, which represented key concepts of the study, and they were ‘mother tongue’, ‘EFL classroom’, ‘L1 use/L2 use’, ‘language acquisition’. Then, I used Boolean operator, which I had not been aware of before the session, and it proposed me different articles which I started to select, read, and analyze. However, this work is still in progress and requires more time and mental efforts.

Fortunately, this work of writing a thesis, drafts has been under regular control of our professors and tutors. I have received many different comments already how my piece of work could be updated though this critique sometimes offends. Recently I have received the vital literature review chapter draft guide and I am going to change, review, and rewrite my current literature review section with the requirements of the above document as it is a better and more logical way to do it.

References

Creswell, J. W. (2012). Educational research: Planning, conducting, and evaluating quantitative and qualitative research, 4th ed. Boston: Pearson.

One thought on “There is always something you can improve and update! This is literature review.

  1. Nicely done, Kairat. This post is clearly written and presented. It gives us a good idea of your personal experience as you work to develop and improve your research skills. A few minor (but persistent) errors jump out in your writing:

    Articles: “The first time I heard about ___ research was at the Inquiry methods session.”
    Problems with multi-clause sentences:
    “Whereas, the most boring and time-consuming part I have faced is the part of reviewing the literature which I first thought was the easiest and minor component in my study.”
    see http://grammarist.com/usage/whereas/

    4.5/5

    Like

Leave a Reply

