So.. my thesis…

The theme of my thesis is “The relationship between academic honesty awareness and plagiarism in Kazakhstani secondary schools”. Although the topic seems quite familiar, it is true, that most secondary schools still are not aware about the notion of Academic honesty and as a result, we do have many dishonest cases happening on different occasions. Actually, it was not easy for me to come to a topic, as my little knowledge on academic research standards and types prevent me from getting a right path from the beginning. My supervisor Aliya supported me in this. So now I know what I am going to research about.

I have made a literature list, that I think is good to start with, already read them but haven’t started combining them together. One of the main issues that I am struggling with is my work. The school has to work on weekends because of different social events happening, as an administrator I have to be present in all of them. This is a quite tiring process and it takes all my energy away, so it is impossible to try to do anything on thesis.

I do not have big issues with finding resources, although this is challenging to see anything new. Most of the literature goes back to 2000s, which I suppose is already quite old-fashioned.

Another challenge comes with actual writing process. One can state, that trying to link the ideas of different people and making a harmonious text is not an easy task.  In this regard, it was quite helpful to revise APA styling.

I am still struggling with defining the right type of methodology. In order to prevent any possible slips, currently I am consulting Cresswell’s “Research methods”. I do hope it will help me to enrich my understanding and knowledge on research process.

5 thoughts on “So.. my thesis…

  1. Dear Laura,
    thank you for your post.
    Working on a literature review is a real tiresome and hard process. It is good that you have already made a list of literature you will use. Probably, you already started analyzing them trying to find general trend and concepts so that then it will be easier for you to combine findings of different scholars and relate to your particular study.

    You’ve mentioned that some of the literature seems to be outdated. So, how are you going to tackle this issue? Will you still use these sources in your thesis or will try to find more modern ones?

    Like

    1. Dear Miramgul

      Thanks for your comment. Some of the works that I found are really precious, that is why probably I decide to use them depending on their importance. Although I am still trying to find most up-to-date ones.

      Like

  2. Dear Laura!
    I think that the issue which you mentioned about old-fashioned articles is the problem for the majority of us. I hope that we will be able to find some new articles and use them in our paper. Also, I agree with you that it is essential to use APA guideline all the time while writing the literature review part. I liked your writing style, especially this sentence “This is a quite tiring process and it takes all my energy away,so it is impossible to try to do anything on thesis”. I wish you good luck with your research paper.
    Best regards, Aizhan.

    Like

  3. Nice work, Laura. I found your post well organized and overall clearly expressed. There is one sentence structure issue that I would like you to pay attention to:

    That vs. Which (and comma usage)

    “Although the topic seems quite familiar, it is true, that most secondary schools still are not aware”
    “I have made a literature list, that I think is good to start with, already read them but haven’t started combining them together.”
    “One can state, that trying to link the ideas of different people and making a harmonious text is not an easy task.”

    Each of these examples has a mistake where you either have a comma where you don’t need one (usually we don’t use commas with “that”, although you do in Russian), or have misused that/which.

    4.5/5

    Like

Leave a Reply

