My experience with using APA

I got introduced with APA style last year when I started my Msc.School leadership program. The program included online English courses that aided me a lot with their tasks oriented on good APA referencing. Although I learned enough about APA from the course, the question ‘WHY APA?’ bothered me a lot. It was not until I started to work on my proposal that I understood its significance and need. I found it very beneficial when I worked on my literature review part. APA referencing helped me with finding relevant, reliable and credible sources. Once you find very strong and relevant article, you may refer to other very closely related articles in the reference list of APA formatting. That way, I learned how to cite and make proper referencing.

However, APA is not just something one can learn at once, it is a kind of study standing on its own with particular goals and principles. In order to acquire good skills in APA, one needs to practice it, exactly, to conduct research. It is commonly acknowledged that the main goal of research is filling the gap in knowledge, adding new knowledge to the existing one (Cresswell, 2014)  and lastly, “sharing the outcomes through dissemination in a scientific journal”. (Algozzine, Spooner & Karvonen, 2002 p.24)Thus, APA seems to be an efficient tool providing this “clear communication” among researchers. (APA, 2001 p.23)

To sum up, I would like to suggest all current and future researchers not to disregard the importance of APA, so that we do not disrupt the chain of “clear communication”. It is crucial to be honest and clear in citing and referencing, because our proper referencing and citing may help many other researchers in their research.

Reference

Algozzine, B., Spooner, F., & Karvonen, M. (2002). Preparing Special Education Research Articles in APA Style. Remedial and Special Education, 24-30.

Cresswell, J. (2014). Educational research: Planning, Conducting and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative research (4th ed., pp. 1-672). London: Pearson Education Limited.

One thought on “My experience with using APA

  1. This is a very clear post that explains why APA is important and describes your challenges.

    Speaking of APA format——–

    Your sentence: ….“sharing the outcomes through dissemination in a scientific journal”. (Algozzine, Spooner & Karvonen, 2002 p.24)Thus, APA seems to be an efficient tool providing this “clear communication” among researchers. (APA, 2001 p.23)

    The period is supposed to go at the END of the sentence:

    Revision: Thus, APA seems to be an efficient tool providing this “clear communication” among researchers (APA, 2001, p. 23). And don’t forget the comma after the date!

    Nice job.

    5 out of 5

    Like

Leave a Reply

