Is it good to be uniform? or Does APA formatting lead to positive outcomes?

APA universal formatting style facilitates the commonly accepted structure in research paper. As a result we get more standardized work which is recognizable by researchers all over the world.

On the one hand, such kind of standardization helps me to do my research paper credible, feasible, identifiable and accurate. When I pursue the definite rules, it is easier to write the paper, in addition, I have more time to be focused on the issue rather than on the design and structure of my work. Using the APA style gives me to ‘build’ my work in a logical progress of information from more broad ideas to more individual details. Moreover, APA style has improved my written skills, especially how to include in-text citation, furthermore, verifying the sources which maintain the claims in the paper leads to consistency. Following the standardized formatting shows my professionalism and respect for the basic rules of professional research in my field of education. As a consequence, my work looks as a classical performance.

Nevertheless, I asked myself several times: if this tendency of normalization doesn’t encourage researchers to be identical. What about creativity? On the other hand, what if we didn’t have the universal APA formatting? The answer is that in this case the works would be ‘chaotic’ and difficult readable. This phenomenon would complicate the process of well-organized and professional looking academic paper. Even if there are people who don’t like any standards and want to be creative, it is obvious that without any strict rules and regulations there are no any unity and cohesion. We can be creative in our ideas and show our original skills in our research paper but complying with the norms of definite formatting such as APA.

As a recommendation for those who just start to work with APA formatting: do not find any negative points in the given universal APA standardization – start to experience it together with your thoughts and suggestions in every work and in the end you will discover that APA really helps to write a clear, consistent and qualitative paper. Likewise, combined work of the professional teachers, instructors and online automatic tools will help students to become familiar with APA formatting.

One thought on “Is it good to be uniform? or Does APA formatting lead to positive outcomes?

  1. Assem,

    I like your third paragraph. You are right. You can still be creative while following citation and formatting rules. And that’s a good recommendation at the end.

    Your title–It is confusing to me. There are two question marks, and the word “does” is capitalized. Why? I can’t grasp the topic from the title, and I can’t understand it.

    Now–the grammar:

    Your sentence: On the one hand, such kind of standardization helps me to do my research paper credible, feasible, identifiable and accurate.

    This sentence is confusing to me. “Do” is a verb, so if you want to modify it, use an adverb, for example: Knowledge of grammar helps me write more ACCURATELY. Also, a research paper cannot be “feasible.” How can it be “identifiable”?

    Watch out for run-ons.
    Your sentence: When I pursue the definite rules, it is easier to write the paper, in addition, I have more time to be focused on the issue rather than on the design and structure of my work.

    You need a period after “paper.” When I pursue the definite rules, it is easier to write the paper.

    4 out of 5

    Like

Leave a Reply

