High time to write thesis

I found “MSc school leadership” programme to be quiet interesting and useful experience that I could ever have. Despite the fact that the courses are intensive and some of them were quiet arduous to cover in a week or more time, I received much knowledge that is closely related to my job. Of all courses, I liked most the course “Professional Identity”, my choice is explained by my great respect to the Professor Duishon. Not only did he provide much information about “teacher professional identity”, but also he himself served the best sample of professional teacher.

Having learnt enough, we are close to finish, which means we are to write our thesis papers. I am not going to concentrate on a topic of professional identity while writing my thesis, though I was inspired enough. The last course “Assessment: Theories, policies and practices” inspired me more and made me look at assessment in education from absolutely different angle. In a hope that my small research will make other teachers to change their perception of formative assessment as well, my focus is going to be on “Formative assessment as a tool to improve student academic performance”

In our accountability environment assessment has become a tool solely for marking and grading while its initial application is of improving student achievement. “Marking is usually conscientious but often fails to offer guidance on how work can be improved” (Black & Wiliam, 1998 p.141), while effectively used formative assessment can provide direction for teachers on how to reconsider their practice and adapt to meet students’ need. Chappius & Stiggins, 2002) Many studies claim the significance of teacher professional development programs in terms of both improving students’ learning and overall educational improvement, while formative assessment seems to be another “magic bullet” (Black & Wiliam, 1998 p.140), which may contribute more. Therefore, I found research into assessment as a tool to improve student achievement useful in Kazakhstani context. I am eager to learn how formative assessment is perceived by teachers in my school and how formative assessment helps them to improve student’s learning, if it helps, in what ways. I hope that my study will be beneficial both for me and for my school.

Reference

Black, P. J. & Wiliam, D. (1998b) Inside the black box: raising standards through classroom assessment (London, King’s College London School of Education).

Chappuis, S., & Stiggins, J. (2002). Classroom assessment for learnng. Educational Leadership,         60, 40-43.

Heritage, M. (2007). Formative Assessment: What Do Teachers Need to Know and Do? Phi Delta Kappan, 140-145.

3 thoughts on “High time to write thesis

  1. Dear Botagoz,
    I will start from something that unites us – Professional Identity course inspired both of us and efforts of Professor Duishon helped to shape the model of a professional teacher and leader.
    Moreover, your topic of research came at appropriate time as manyy schools need to rethink their vision on formative assessment. It is challenging to differentiate between assessment for learnong and assessment of learning. There are many reasons for that. Your research even if it is “small” (as you wrote) will contribute to buildong more or less shared understanding of this new term.
    If you need any help in conducting surveys you are more than welcome.

    Like

  2. A real discovery for me was the practice of a teacher from a rural school, that our instructor shared with us. She used to adapt her teaching according to results of prior assessment results. She used her ‘traditional assessment’ in a formative style. I think that teachers should have a deeper understanding of the essence of formative assessment rather than formal aspect. Future findings of your thesis will be interesting to read.

    Like

  3. Dear Botagaz,

    This is a clear and interesting post. Welcome to the NUWG.

    The citations in the body of your post are done well. You used quotation marks for direct quotations–good!

    I am not sure why you switched from professional identity to assessment. That was a bit abrupt in your post. Maybe a few sentences to elaborate would have been a good idea.

    But I see a few errors in the formatting of your references, so consult your APA style manual. In the second one there is extra space and a typographical error. In the third, I’m not sure that is a book because you need to italicize book titles. I think there is a typo there too. What is Phi Delta Kappan??

    Watch out for run-ons. You write: “Of all courses, I liked most the course “Professional Identity”, my choice is explained by my great respect to the Professor Duishon.” You can’t use a comma if you need a period. Revision: Of all courses, I liked most the course “Professional Identity.”

    4.5 out of 5

    Like

Leave a Reply

